NJ Legal Resources from Westlaw (requires sign-in with library card and PIN):
Westlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Includes the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia. Includes both Federal and State law resources. Access is available to 5 simultaneous users only. If you are unable to access, capacity has been reached. Please wait a few minutes and try again.
NJ State Library Legal Resources Page:
The State Library has compiled sources hosted by the library as well as from outside sources.
Current Data:
The official site of the agency established in the US Constitution to collect data about the United States and make it available. The site is focused primarily on current and recent data, though it provides access across the 21st century. Extensive tools and reports are available through the top menu headings such as https://www.census.gov/data.html while a more streamlined user interface is provided by data.census.gov/cedsci. The Census Bureau provides many instructional videos and tips on finding "Datad Gems" at https://www.census.gov/data/academy/data-gems.html
Census Reporter is an independent project – not affiliated with the US Census - to make it easier for journalists to write stories using information from the U.S. Census bureau. Place profiles and comparison pages provide a friendly interface for navigating data, including visualizations for a more useful first look.
The New Jersey State Data Center (NJSDC) is a cooperative project of the State of New Jersey and the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Serving data users in the public, private, and academic sectors, the NJSDC has three main objectives: Expand access to and use of census and other statistics, provide technical assistance and analytical support in the use of these statistics, and provide user training on timely, census-related topics.
The US Bureau of Economic Analysis produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP, as well as state and local numbers, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
Historic (and Current) Data
Social Explorer (sign in with library card and PIN required)
Social Explorer collects data from as far back as the first decennial census of 1790 up to the present day from US Census and other demographic data sources. Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help make data understandable. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Additional descriptions at https://www.socialexplorer.com/product
IPUMS USA (originally, the "Integrated Public Use Microdata Series") collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present. Much of the historic raw data used by Social Explorer, transcribed from printed census tables from the 18th through 20th century, is drawn from this project.